Prayer to combat worry: Philippians 4:6,7

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God which surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6,7

What a frequently used verse to remind us not to worry yet why do we struggle so much with concern over the future?

As I have been learning to pray Scripture there are several things the Lord has been teaching me.

  1. Look for the command: Not all verses have a command or exhortation but many do. Once I know the command I can tell Him my inability to carry it out on my own and ask for His help.
  2. To affirm my believe in His Word: no matter what Scripture I am praying I believe it is important to affirm that I believe what His Word says is true. This is also a way to help teach my heart truth.
  3. Find the promise: I can tell Him I believe His promise and thank Him for it.

This is the prayer I wrote for our Sunday School class based on this verse.

verse card lesson 10 picPhilippians 4:6,7 free printable verse card

About Naomi Fata

I am a wife, work from home mom with three amazing children, author of Beyond Head Knowledge knowing Christ who satisfies our Hearts. I’m an ordinary person who has found victory in an extraordinary God. My passion is to help others grow to emotional and mental wholeness and healing in Christ. I am currently studying as a life coach through Light University.
This entry was posted in Praying Scripture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Prayer to combat worry: Philippians 4:6,7

  1. Pingback: The One Sure Way to Banish the Cycle of Worry from Your Life | Take No Thought

  2. Pingback: | Think on These Things

Share your thoughts

